Growth

In the last forty-eight hours I have done more things with ease that previously would have taken me months or weeks to deliberate than ever before. In short order, I heard about a graduate program, decided to apply, started (and nearly finished) my application and (drumroll please) asked four people for recommendations. 

This morning, when I heard back from one of my recommenders, I was struck by how, in the past, I would have been held up by something as simple as asking somebody to write a recommendation. I wouldn’t have thought I was worthy of a recommendation, or even if I thought I was, I wouldn’t have wanted to inconvenience somebody for something I wanted to do. 

Maybe it’s maturity, maybe it’s more self-confidence, or maybe it’s evidence of God’s restorative and calming work in my life, but in any case, I’m grateful for growth!

Leave a Reply

