Habitats

Love love love this post for so many reasons. First, because it so is how I live my life. Those moments before vacations are the ones I live for. I know rest is coming, I know that long luxurious hours are the ones that bring rest to my soul, and so those are the ones that I live for.

Beyond that, I love it because it mentioned the habitat that God created for us. We’ve been studying habitats in school, and it has been striking to me how each animal is so perfectly created for its habitat (or, how each habitat is so perfectly created for its inhabitants). What am I missing in the habitat in which I am currently living? Honestly? I’m not feeding that 1-1 relationship with Him that I was created to live with. This has been a constant struggle for me. I am so exhausted at the end of the day, that all I want to do is watch TV and zone out until it’s time to go to bed. I wake up in the morning too late to spend time with God, with barely enough time to shower. In short, as Bonnie points out I am as, as many, living on auto-pilot.

So, how do I move out of auto-pilot? How do I move into a way of life that appreciates each moment, that stops wishing away the majority of the life that I live? I need to find that time to spend with the Lord. It slows me down when I do, it focuses me on what’s important, and it’s time to do just that. It’s time to begin to live in the habitat for which I was created.

Leave a Reply

