Fall!?

It seems like yesterday that I sat down to write my obligatory start of summer post and now, here I sit with my vacation days numbered and a new school year looming large. I thought the feeling of terror that I felt at the start of my first year of teaching would fade by the time I reached my second, or even my third year and yet entering my sixth year the butterflies have started in earnest. As I sat down to fill out my lesson planner for the first week of school I was still overwhelmed by the thought of having to teach little humans for 180 days this year. We always make it through, we always learn something, but there’s a lot of blood, sweat, and tears that go into each year and it’s hard to imagine conjuring all of that up at the beginning of the year.

I love summer vacation, but it’s this time of year that I have to remember that there’s a lot to love about fall too. In that spirit, my list of fun things I’m looking forward to for the fall:

  • Being awake for almost all of the sun-light hours of the day
  • Coffee and quiet time on the patio before school
  • Meeting my new third graders, and seeing my fourth graders become the leaders in the classroom
  • Soccer games with my dad and my uncle over at Tufts
  • The Topsfield Fair
  • Using my fall decorations again, and adding a few more
  • The brisk fall air and the need to wear a fleece again (but really, no more than a fleece… I’m not welcoming in freezing cold winter days just yet.)
  • Apple Picking
  • Hot Apple Cider
  • Pretty fall foliage
  • Finding opportunities for weekend trips and making the most of them
What are your favorite things about fall?
Leave a Reply

