What’s Been Going On

I’ll admit it, it’s been nice to take a break from blogging for awhile. I haven’t had much to say, and being able to take a break from putting everything into words has been a bit of a relief. I’ve also been wondering about what it might look like to refocus my blog, and so summer has provided an opportunity to begin that thought process. In the meantime though, I figured I should pop on by to document what I actually have been doing this summer. It’s been flying so fast that sometimes it’s easy to let myself think that I haven’t done anything when in fact, that’s far from the truth. My oh-so-optimistic to-do list is not close to being done, but I have packed many memories into these weeks. So, a recap, so far this summer I have:

  • Visited upstate New York twice
  • Begun reading “Notebook Know-How” to prepare for a new way of doing Writer’s Workshop this year
  • Completed 50% of my school shopping
  • Visited NYC on the second hottest day ever and saw Central Park, the New York Public Library, The Strand, The World Trade Center site, and my fabulous cousin in Phantom of the Opera
  • Visited the Outer Banks with my relatives, spent lots of time on the beach, ate way too much ice cream,  and saw the Wright Brothers park
  • Visited Castle Island for a day on the beach
  • Went to the Children’s Museum with my friend and her adorable 2 year old who was just adopted from Russia, so fun to meet him
  • Read books: Faith, The Forgotten Garden, One Thousand Gifts (in progress), Brooklyn (also in progress)
  • Toured the West Wing of the White House – amazing to see where so much history has happened! I stood right outside of The Situation Room… I mean come on, so cool!
  • Completed more than half of the Couch to 5K program, and ran my first 20 minute run since freshman year of high school.
  • Set up all the furniture in my classroom, and finished sorting, organizing, and labeling the library – a MAJOR success!
I’m going to go ahead and call this summer a success. There’s never enough time to do everything I want to. And maybe, admitting that is a sign of maturity. There’s never enough time, and so instead, I do the things I can, I enjoy the time I had, and at the end of the summer, hopefully I enter the classroom rested, rejuvenated, and ready to give my all to the kids for another 10 months.
Leave a Reply

