It’s Here!

Summer vacation is finally finally here! I was thinking today that I want my focus of the summer to be different than it has in the past. Instead of devoting all of my time this summer to recovering lost sleep, I am trying to be more purposeful this summer. There are parts of my life that have been seriously neglected this year as I was just barely in survival mode. So, as summer winds up, I’m ready to make some changes.

Exercise

This year has left little time for exercise, particularly because exercise has never been a regular part of my routine. So, I’m taking a serious approach this summer, alternating the Couch to 5K program with Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. Ambitious? Perhaps. If it’s too much, my backup plan is to just to the weight training from the 30 Day Shred. We’ll see how it goes. Funny, but my first step in getting started with this plan is to quit the gym. Reality is that as nice as it is, I just don’t get there. And it turns out I can go to my alma mater’s gym for considerably less!

Food

Ahh the end of the year with it’s constant eating out. It does little for my waistline and little for my wallet, but a considerable amount for my stress relief. It leaves the first few weeks of summer however to undo the damage. Fortunately, summer is the easiest time to make these changes with all of its fresh and delicious fruits and veggies! I’m back on Weight Watchers, and with 9 weeks between now and the start of vacation, I’m hoping to take off at least 15 pounds.

Jesus

So that 30 Day Challenge I took on at the beginning of June crashed and burned in the stress of the month. I’m taking on a 63 Day Challenge instead; spending time with Jesus every day this summer.

So, there we are. There are tons of trips I’d love to take and things I’d like to experience, but I feel like if I can enter the fall with these three things under some element of control, I’ll be better off for it.

Leave a Reply

