Busy Busy Busy

I can’t even tell you how much work I’ve done over the last few days, and how much I’ve still got left to do. It seems insurmountable at the moment, but the truth of the matter is, but Friday it’ll all be over, and then all I’ve got to do is have fun with the kids for a week.

I sat down to do my schedule for the week yesterday and I was completely overwhelmed by what’s in store! Today I had to cram in cleaning my classroom, writing sub plans, community group, grocery shopping, and laundry; tomorrow I get a little bit of a break – I’m vacuuming my car (for the first time since August), cleaning the apartment, hopefully working out, and then heading to my book club; Wednesday’s catch-up time at school, then heading to my old school to watch some of my old students graduate; Thursday I’m hanging out with my cousin and her kids and then seeing some friends who are visiting from Africa, and then Friday I have a doctor’s appointment followed by another book club. It’s possible that I will have lost my mind by Saturday morning.

Fortunately there are those moments when I remember what all of this craziness is leading up to that help me to stop and remember that it’s all temporary. Like today when I was standing in line with my 10 for $5.00 yogurts and thought “this is more yogurt than I need to get me through the rest of the school year!” That’s a big deal to me, because I literally have had a yogurt almost every single day this year except when I am behind on my shopping. Then, there was the thought as I was finding myself a little bit bored of the usual Whole Foods trek, that summer time means that I get to make the journey out to Watertown to Russo’s Market, my favorite supermarket, but one that’s just a little too far away for the school year. It’s a nice summer time treat. I think I’m ready for a new routine!

I’m afraid to say that I’ve all but given up on building a quiet time routine before the end of the school year is over, but I’m looking forward to having a schedule that’s a little bit more open in which to do just that. My relationship with Jesus needs renewal, but it also needs space to grow. It’s not to say that I’m just throwing in the towel for the next 7.5 days of school, but I am going to go easy on myself. I know that it takes up to 6 weeks to establish a routine, and only a crazy-lady would try to do so during one of my two busiest months of the year when I’m still reeling from our family tragedy.

Anyway, sorry for the crazy post, hopefully this summer will lend itself to more reflection and fewer play-by-plays of my days!

Leave a Reply

