Onward

This spring I have put on more than my share of weight. A combination of emotional eating plus consistent sabotage at the hands of my coworkers and myself and I suddenly find that I weight almost 7 pounds more than I did last summer. I pulled out my summer clothes last weekend, and I discovered that almost all of them are… tight. Like almost to the point where I should really buy new pants and shorts. I am, however, cheap. And so, if for no other reason than the fact that I don’t want to spend money on bigger clothes, I am going to lose weight.

My mom and I were talking about it today, and she told me how she’s been asking my cousin for help eating well, since both my aunt and cousin were health and diet conscious. While that’s not really up my alley- I don’t really believe that they have the power to alter my eating habits or help me lose weight, it’s nice to feel connected to them through eating better and exercising more.

To that end, I finally picked up the 30 Day Shred video again. I completed a whole Level 1 workout, and I have been laying in bed hoping my muscles would recover ever since. Man, that workout is instense! The promise of 20 pounds in 30 days though is, well, enticing to say the least. If I were to stick with it, I could almost be at my goal weight by the time school gets out! I’d love to do the Shred workout every day, but at the very least I want to move purposefully every day. Maybe it’ll be a walk after work, maybe it’ll be a class at the gym, maybe, if I’m brave, it’ll be the Shred before school… one way or another, it’s time to MOVE because you know what? I can. And that is a blessing.

In the meantime? It’s off to Baltimore for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

