Summer Reading

I was writing another post about the complexities of grief last night, but it sits in my unpublished box uncompleted. There is simultaneously so much and nothing left to say on the subject. I know it will be the subject of future posts, but for now something a bit more lighthearted.

Like my students, I am eager to begin summer vacation. There is so much to love about summer, and as always I am summer-dreaming with 8 weeks left to go. I was contemplating my schedule, which I hope will look a little something like this:

  • 8:00 wake, workout
  • 10:00 reading
  • 12:00 lunch
  • 1:00 afternoon activities, day trips, etc.
  • 7:00 dinner
  • 8:00 walk
  • 11:00 bed
I’ve especially been thinking about how to fill my reading block. There is so much I want to read this summer, and so much I want to learn. I’m dividing my summer reading list into a couple of categories: school, fun, and Jesus. So, the to-read list:
Fun
  • Gilead
  • The Great Gatsby
  • The Wilder Life
  • To Kill a Mockingbird
  • The Principles of Uncertainty
  • The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down (and it’s not even summer yet!)

School

  • The Morning Meeting Book (reread)
  • The First Six Weeks of School (reread)
  • Guiding Readers and Writers (selected chapters)
  • Notebook Know-How
  • Craft Lessons
Jesus
  • Mudhouse Sabbath
  • The Screwtape Letters

Have a suggestion for me in any of the categories? I’d love to hear it… I’m always looking for more! Still to come… the To-Do list.
2 thoughts on “Summer Reading

  1. Hey Jen,

    So, this is the first time I’ve ever commented on a fellow blogger’s blog, but I wanted to let you know I am thinking of you in this hard time in life. I know how hard the unexpected can hit us, so know that you are not alone and that a random person out there (me) is praying for you.

    Also, it’s fun to read your blog as a fellow teacher. I saw that you mentioned The Morning Meeting in your reading list. My school is currently using the Caring School Community and we have daily morning meetings in my classroom. They are awesome and I absolutely love the level of community it brings to my 3rd graders.

    What grade do you teach? Hope this comment finds you well.

    Peace and Love,

    Lauren

  2. Hi Lauren,
    Thanks for your comment. I love reading your blog too, it’s one of my regular blog subscriptions! I so appreciate your kind words, and the knowledge that you are praying for me. I need all the prayer I can get right now!

    I teach 3rd and 4th grade, and love it! We use Responsive Classroom which is probably somewhat similar to Caring School Community. It’s my first year using Responsive Classroom, but it makes a huge difference in the classroom climate! I’m rereading this summer in addition to going to an RC training. Hopefully it’ll make a difference in my teaching next year!

    All the Best,
    Jen

Leave a Reply

