Daily Routines

Daily routines are the worst. I never ever ever want to do them. And then, I’m bummed out when I don’t do them, and I wake up in the morning, and they’re not done. It’s like at school with my morning message. Part of my afternoon routine is to write a morning message on the board before I leave. I HATE having to do it in the morning. It just one more thing I have to do during an already busy period of the day. I love the feeling of walking into the room and just knowing it’s done. And yet, it is like pulling teeth to get myself to do it in the afternoon when all I want to do is leave. I’ve started thinking about though in terms of a gift that I’m giving myself. When I can fast forward in my brain to the Jen that has to walk into my classroom in the morning, and anticipate the pleasure I’ll receive from doing the onerous task now, I’m often able to get the job done. I need to begin to incorporate that thinking into my every day life.

And so, without further ado, the daily routines.

  • Morning: make the bed, open the shades, pull the shower curtain back over the bathtub, put laundry in the hamper and dishes in the dishwasher, empty dishwasher if necessary, pack lunch
  • Afternoon: sort, file, and recycle mail; chore of the day; empty lunchbox and refill waterbottle, spend time reading the Bible
  • Evening: put laundry in the hamper, wash dinner dishes, put dishes in the dishwasher, run the dishwasher if necessary, pull down the shades

Readers, I know you’re out there since you pop up every so often in my blog stats… help me out here. What am I missing in my list of daily routines?

Still to come: a weekly chore routine, and pictures of the first week’s work!

Leave a Reply

