Perspective Shift

I popped into my favorite coffee shop the other day on my way to work and came across a box asking for submissions that turn the usual New Year’s Resolution Routine on it’s head. The box was labelled simply “What Would You Resolve Not To Change About Yourself in the New Year?” (Or something like that… I don’t completely remember most things that happen before 8:00 in the morning.)

After seeing that box, it was as if a lightbulb suddenly went off. How many times will I resolve to change 10 things about myself in the new year, and then fail? What if I did resolve not to change something instead? Wouldn’t it be nice to acknowledge that I am already doing some things well, and then intentionally keep doing those things? Why yes, I think it would.

And so, as I wind down the last 20 days of the old year, I’ll be reflecting on what went well. Expect the New Year’s Resolution post to hit your screen just under three short weeks from now… but in the meantime, I’d love to hear your thoughts. What are your resolutions? Are you resolving to change something, or are you resolving to continue just the way you are?

Leave a Reply

