Busy-ness, Sickness, and the Trouble with Being an Introverted Teacher

I’m sorry I’ve been somewhat absent. It’s been a long week. I think it’s finally hit me that summer is really over, and that it’s not coming back for a long, long time. I’ve been so longing for those slow, sweet mornings. I’ve envisioned spending hours on my patio with a book and a cup of coffee, and I’ve been yearning for the feel of the warm sun on my skin. Summer days are more my pace than the rest of the year.

Knowing this, I find myself often counting the days until summer. I break up each season into small parts, count down to the special events within each part, and before I know it, I find myself at summer vacation again. Here’s the thing though, when I do that, I miss so much. Most of life does not exist in the summer months, and when I fail to really live the in-between times, I find that I am wasting away my life. What a challenge it is to truly live in these times that fall in between the times we enjoy so much.

And on that note, this week is one that I find myself just wanting to “get through.” The desire to look to the weekend is especially strong this week.

The dread enveloping the anticipation of this week is hard to overcome. I was getting sick last week, and I spent the entirety of the weekend in bed or on the couch. I was grateful for a Harry Potter marathon on ABC Family to keep me entertained. Anyway, suffice it to say, I’m tired, and this week brings the promise of absolutely no rest. You see, it’s parent-teacher conference week.

It’s not that I dread the conferences themselves. In fact, I find it a refreshing time to partner with families and gain some clarity on how the kids are really doing. The tough part, is for an introvert like me, the prospect of fitting 21 more meetings into a work week that’s already designed for the extroverted is somewhat overwhelming.

So I guess the question is, how do I nourish myself and my own unique need to recharge, while still enjoying the week?

2 thoughts on “Busy-ness, Sickness, and the Trouble with Being an Introverted Teacher

  1. Came across your blog because you commented above me on Chatting At the Sky. I saw that your last blog post was about being an introverted teacher, and so being a teacher myself it peeked my interest!

    I think many of us can so relate to the “get through” feeling that seems to overwhelm and consume us at times.

    For me, i’ve learned to constantly choose to stop and pray and beg Him for eyes that realize ABUNDANCE and JOY is available to me TODAY, in THIS place, no matter my sleepy groggy “get through” mood.

    The enemy so wants to convince us that we aren’t capable of JOY in all circumstances and that the abundant life isn’t for us, but the Lord tells us QUITE the opposite!

    I don’t care if it’s one day before Thanksgiving break or ONE hour… He promises JOY in that moment (not happiness, but constant sustaining joy).

    Believe Him sister…. fight the enemy when he puts any other thought in your mind.

    🙂

    Sorry – just been learning this myself. Felt lead to share!

    • Thanks for the encouragement… it’s definitely a word I needed to hear late on this Monday night. There is so much joy in the moment, but I so often get caught up in what’s coming next that I forget to look for it. I browsed through your blog this evening… I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

