It only took me 27 years to realize…

That I am not good enough.

I don’t know why the thought finally struck me this week, but as I was reading through the Bible this week, exploring the subject of grace, it did. I’m not good enough, and furthermore, I will never be good enough.

Now, for someone who spends a lot of time wanting to be perfect, I at first expected to be devastated by this realization. I mean, if I’m never going to be good enough, what is the point? Instead, I was flooded with a sense of relief because you see, while I will never measure up when the standard is perfection, Jesus loves me now- exactly how I am. It’s hard to get my mind around that, but I’m learning to walk in the freedom that reality provides.

Leave a Reply

