Retreat

My week was more or less insane. Besides the usual school routine, I had Community Group on Monday night, staff meeting and chorus on Tuesday night, new teacher induction and babysitting on Wednesday night, and book group on Thursday night. While I enjoy all of these activities, by the time I got to Friday night, I was beat and I had four hours of sitting in the car in traffic ahead of me to look forward to. I wasn’t really looking forward to the church retreat this time… I was going because it’s what I do every Columbus Day, and because I always end up having fun, but in reality all I really wanted to do was sleep the weekend away.

I took a moment in my car before I walked into the main building to check-in. I needed to prepare myself for the constant social interaction. It’s not really my introverted-self’s favorite thing. From the moment I walked in however, I was reminded of how much I love my church and the people who are a part of it. I’ve never been a part of a community like the one at Christ the King. It continues to astound me how the people at that church consistently go out of their way to show the love of Christ. It is such a model to me of what community should look like.

During the retreat we looked at some of Jesus’ parables in Luke. I’m still processing through what I learned there, but I think more than anything I felt an increased awareness of my sin, and the need for repentance. I’m not sure how that translates into everyday life, but I know it needs to… and I know I want it to.

 

I’ll close with a picture from last year’s retreat, and a taste of tomorrow’s adventures at the Topsfield Fair. I didn’t get to do the hike on the retreat this year since I was on a self-imposed hiatus so that I could get some school-work done before the rest of the weekend. As for the Topsfield Fair, it’s becoming a Monday after retreat tradition. I’m looking forward to next year already!

Leave a Reply

