A Sense of Place

I’ve been reading the Tuesdays Unwrapped posts over at Chatting at the Sky for a couple of weeks now. What a highlight for the beginning of the week. I’ve been feeling moved to try my own for a couple of weeks, but it’s been hard these past few weeks to slow down, and to notice the small gifts around me. The beginning of the school year is overwhelming. The beginning of a new school year in a new school is unimaginably overwhelming. And yet, when I stopped tonight I was amazed by how the gifts are everywhere I look. It’s hard to pick just one for this week, but I’m giving it a try anyway!

tuesdays unwrapped at cats


It was Back to School Night at school tonight. I taught for half the day, had teacher meetings for the second half, and then stayed at school until 7:45 when my final parent when home, which meant that I arrived home somewhere around 8:00. I was exhausted; I am exhausted; but all day the same thought kept occurring to me. I am just where I am supposed to be.

I spent all year last year trying to be someplace else. I wanted big open skies, I wanted silence, I wanted to see the stars, I wanted a chance to start all over again, to create a different life. And then I got a job two blocks from my church, and an apartment a mile from both, and I realized, I am called to be here right now. I am called to be in the city with its light pollution and its noise pollution and its lack of green space and because I am where I believe God has called me to be, I love it here.

6 thoughts on “A Sense of Place

  1. found you via emily’s site. this is a beautiful post, and i am so glad you shared it. i love that you reminded us to be content and to “bloom” if God plants us in the “dramatic” or in the “ordinary.” Thanks for writing!

    Love from Thailand,
    Laura

  2. I traveled here from chatting at the sky and I have to say I am really glad she choose to mention you in her recent post.

    I just moved to Italy which was my choice but at the same time once we got her I found myself struggling against the differences from where I was in the US to my new life here. Before we left I just knew that this was where we were supposed to be, but once we got here everything was so different, so new even though I had been here before.

    Eventually I found to stop fighting against my heart and stop listening to my head. I am where I am supposed to be. Being here allowed me to stop being away from my daughter every day all day and has given me the time to pursue the things I have passion for in my heart not just my head.

    I think its like you said, we all think we are supposed to be someplace else, even after we struggle to get to where we think we are supposed to be.

    Great post I look forward to reading more 🙂

    • Thanks for reading, and good luck in Italy! It does seem that the old proverbial saying is true, the grass really is always greener somewhere else, but in the end, I’m starting to think the best thing to do is just dive in where we are!

Leave a Reply

