New Routines

Before I started the school year, I created a list of new routines I wanted to implement. You see, I am notorious for having to spend my weekends cleaning, because during the week, my apartment goes from clean to… not clean… in about 30 seconds flat. So I decided a routine was the answer to my problems. And honestly, it probably is, except for the fact that for the routine to work, I’d actually have to implement it.

On it’s face, the plan is pretty simple. A list of things that I need to do, and the times at which I need to do them. For example:

  • 5:10 AM – Alarm Goes Off, Get Up, Stretch, Head to the Gym
  • 5:30  – Work Out
  • 6:10 – Head Home
  • 6:20 – Shower
  • 6:40 – Dress
  • 6:50 – Breakfast, Quiet Time
  • 7:05 – Do Hair
  • 7:15 – Leave, Walk To Work
  • 7:35-3:30 School
  • 4:00 PM– Make Coffee for AM, Pack Lunch, Wash Out Old Containers, Lay Out Clothes for AM, Pack Gym Bag
  • 4:30 – Clean Sweep, Clean Daily Room
  • 8:00 – Dress for Bed, Brush Teeth, Wash Face
  • 8:30 – In Bed, Read
  • 9:00 – Lights Out

Instead, my life has looked more like this:

  • 6:00 AM – Stumble out of bed, spend a half hour showering and otherwise getting ready, because I am basically comatose
  • 6:35 – Throw lunch together. Move quickly.
  • 6:45 – Realize I do not have enough time to make coffee.
  • 6:46 – Make coffee anyway. I will never make it through the day without it.
  • 6:48 – Make breakfast (something complicated because I didn’t buy cereal and milk because my mornings are supposed to be relaxed and I should have time to make eggs)
  • 6:55 – Wolf down breakfast… check e-mail
  • 7:02 – Spend 2 minutes blow-drying the T-zone of my hair. Put up in a messy twist.
  • 7:07 – Leave the house, drive to work because there is SO much to do.
  • 7:12 – 4:30/5:00 – Work
  • 4:45 – Arrive at home. Collapse. Think about how it is too late for a nap.
  • 4:50 – Check home e-mail for the second time since 6:45. Respond to messages.
  • 5:30 – Think about dinner. Decide I am too tired to cook. Continue working on e-mail. Switch to school e-mail if necessary to fill up the hour.
  • 6:00 – Think about dinner again. Decide I am too cheap to order out.
  • 6:15 – Make dinner
  • 7:00 – Eat dinner
  • 7:30 – Look at the mess in the kitchen. Decide to deal with it tomorrow. At least corral it into the sink.
  • 7:45 – Manage to put my ice pack in the refrigerator so at least that is cold tomorrow.
  • 7:47 – Watch Law & Order: SVU
  • 11:00 – Realize I have now watched three hours of television, and it is past my bedtime. Beat myself up and go to bed.

The bottom line, and the root of the problem, is that I am exhausted. There is really no way around that. My job is exhausting, and chances are good that I will come home having spent too much time on my feet, and not enough time being able to process a single thought. However, my day needs to include more intentional exercise, and more intentional sleep so that I can spend less time feeling catatonic, and more time, actually being productive. Even if the thing I’m being productive at is relaxation. I’m going to try this week…

4 thoughts on “New Routines

  1. It seems like I have the same issues…. so tired after work, get home and dont want to do a thing which makes it harder for the next morning, then spend all weekend cleaning because nothing got done during the week. Its a cycle. Have you heard of Flylady? Its basically forcing yourself into a habit each day of doing a few minminal things to make your life easier. Im trying.

  2. Wow. I LOVE your blog. I popped over here from chatting at the sky. I’ve read several posts and you have taken my to a place I was 19 yrs ago when I had my first teaching job, apartment, etc. I remember coming home from school and literally going to bed at 5pm. Or midnight if I wanted to grind out ME time and then deal with the exhaustion. Thank you for your posts. My life now is about two boys 9 and 14 and my sweet hubby, who I am kinda angry at at the moment. Budget stuff. School PTA stuff. Am I a good enough mama stuff. I’m kinda going on and on but I just wanted to say I really appreciate your blog and I’m going to continue reading. Thank you for writing!!

    Martha

    • Thank you, Martha, for your kind words! It’s a great reminder that each season of life passes, quicker than we like sometimes! Thanks for continuing to read!

Leave a Reply

