Changes

Change is in the air these days as the college students pour in and the cool air takes the place of hot, summer nights. It feels good to pull on a pair of jeans and head down to Union Square for a hot latte at Bloc 11. I miss summer, and the carefree, unscheduled days, but I am learning to embrace fall.

This fall brought it’s own set of changes. A new apartment. A new job. A whole new life in many respects. It’s been fun, and challenging to move into this new reality.

On the apartment front, I have been happy to discover how much I enjoy living alone, and how much it has helped me to begin deepening the relationships that I have with people in the city. Instead of running in the opposite direction of the church greeting hour on Sundays, I look forward to it each week, knowing that it’s an opportunity for social interaction. Living alone, my introverted needs are met. I can retreat home any time I need to and know exactly what I will find. Are there drawbacks? Sure… the mess in the kitchen? All mine. The utility bills? Likewise, all mine. But the quiet? That’s all mine too.

At school, it’s a whole new world and I love it. It’s what I signed up for six years ago when I began filling out applications to go to graduate school. It’s challenging, but I love how my brain is twirling 24/7, figuring out new solutions to the problems that seem to pop up just when I think I have everything under control. It’s like first-year teaching all over again… but with the knowledge that there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. I’m grateful for my evenings this year, when I can come home and decompress, instead of looking for a new job. And I’m looking forward to evenings a few years from now, when I’ve truly left work at work.

So… for a girl who doesn’t like change… it’s been a big fall, but you know what? I’m starting to like it.

Leave a Reply

