It’s been a long time coming…

On Thursday, I got a new job. On Friday (the last day of school), I had to tell my current students that I will not be returning for next year. It made for a tearful day, but I really feel that this is the direction that God is pulling me in right now.

It’s been hard to put into words all that has pushed me in this direction. I think it starts with the fact that four years ago, when I signed my contract, I felt that I could reasonably commit three years to this school. As those years drew to a close, I began to feel that it was time to move on and while it took me awhile, I think this year has been a gradual push in that direction. Sure there were specific things that made me more confident in my desire to move on, but in the end it was the reminder that my heart has always been in the public schools that made the final decision simple.

When the call came on Thursday, I’ll admit I was surprised. Teaching in the public schools has long been a dream and so to have it come true still seems surreal. Still, as I walked through the interview process, I felt a peace that gave me both comfort and the confidence to accept the position.

So, I’m off on a new adventure. I will miss the people and memories that I am leaving behind, but I find myself eager to take on these new challenges. Instead of the summer of rest I was anticipating, it’ll be a summer of preparation but even so, I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

