Routines: the need for and the lack thereof

Summer always presents a dilemma. By the end of the year, I am so far past done with routines that I tend to spend the last few weeks before vacation throwing off all semblance of them that I can. I come home from school, throw together a quick dinner, and tend to spend the next few hours in my room puttering. It’s all very unproductive. Now I love this time, and I need this unscheduled time, and it’s one of my favorite things about summer, but I also know that if I am going to truly enjoy my summer, my days need some structure. So, a few days ago, I put together my Rules for Summer Happiness, and in the hopes of being accountable, even if just to the greater blogosphere, I have decided to share them with you.

Summer 2010 – Rules for Summer Happiness (or Happiness Resolutions)

  1. Exercise in some form, everyday
  2. Read everyday
  3. Plan two activities per week
  4. Go to the beach at least once a week
  5. Clothes go immediately to their proper place, upon being removed
  6. Meals should be taken in the kitchen
  7. Coffee can be taken in the bedroom
  8. Up by 9:00 a.m.
  9. Down by 11:00 p.m.
  10. Take pictures
Leave a Reply

