Summer Dreams

It seems to be time for some new content. It’s been a busy month, and I’ve been occupied sorting out the details of my life! Still, it hasn’t stopped me from dreaming of summer and so, last night, I finally made my second annual summer list. Last year I got to almost every single item on my summer list- I think Arnold Arboretum was the last holdout, and I got to that in April. This year, the list is a bit more ambitious. I won’t get to it all, but the goal is to pick 1-2 activities per week. Here goes!

Summer 2010

  • Scooper Bowl ($8)
  • Taco Tuesdays at La Verdad ($1) tacos
  • Castle Island
  • Walk to the Sea
  • Sand Sculpture Festival (July 14-18)
  • Shakespeare on the Common (Othello) July 28-August 15
  • Vintage Baseball at George’s Island (July 11, August 8)
  • SOWA Market Sundays
  • MFA Free Community Days (Sunday June 20 and Friday July 30)
  • Tour the Custom House
  • USS Constitution
  • Boston Public Library tour
  • Commonwealth Museum
  • North End
  • ICA (free Thursdays 5-9)
  • Newport Cliff Walk
  • Main Lobster Festival ($8) Aug 4-8
  • Edith Wharton’s Estate (Lenox, MA)
  • DeCordova Museum
  • Isle of Shoals
  • First Friday Art Walk, Portland, ME
  • Eartha – Yarmouth, ME
  • Irish Heritage Trail, Boston, MA
  • Arnold Arboretum – Jamaica Plain
  • Cape Neddick Light – York, ME
  • MFA
  • Vermont Historical Society Museum – Montpelier, VT

Free Friday Flicks

  • Grease – June 18
  • The Wizard of Oz – July 9
  • Where the Wild Things Are – July 23
  • Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs – July 30

Movies By Moonlight

  • The Wizard of Oz – June 25
  • Field of Dreams – July 16
  • An Affair to Remember – July 23

And then of course, there’s the Summer Reading List… now some of this is genuine summer beach reading, while some of it qualifies as quality literature, but it makes me excited to think of all the time I’ll have to plow through these!

  • The Crowing Glory of Calla Lily Ponder, Rebecca Wells
  • Barefoot, Elin Hilderbrand
  • House Rules, Jodi Picoult
  • Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand, Helen Simonson
  • Noah’s Compass, Anne Tyler
  • The House of Mirth, Edith Wharton
  • The Scenic Route, Binnie Kirshenbaum
  • Home Safe, Elizabeth Berg
  • The Heretic’s Daughter, Kathleen Kent
  • Olive Kitteridge, Elizabeth Strout
  • Swan Thieves, Elizabeth Kostova

Of course I’m picturing long lazy mornings spent in Playstead Park in Medford with my cup of coffee and my book of the week and lazier afternoons spent in bed taking a nap with a few trips here and there to keep my brain entertained. Of course, the reality will probably look different, but with 13 school-days and 18 work-days left… I’m choosing to live in the fantasy.

Leave a Reply

