Discipline = Happiness… an Update

So my goals for March were:

  1. Go to yoga on Friday
  2. Wake up at 7:00 on Saturday and Sunday (which means go to bed at 10 on Friday and Saturday)
  3. Try the mostly sugar-free thing, for one more week

It’s funny because I had all but forgotten about having consciously made those goals in the midst of progress-report writing-rain avoiding-March dragging-craziness that has been going on. However, they must have been in the back of my mind because for the most part I did try to do them. I didn’t make it to Yoga at all (on account of the craziness), I tried the sugar-free thing, and I DID the waking up at 7:00 thing.

I didn’t want waking up at 7:00 on the weekends to make such a big difference. I LOVE sleeping in until whatever time I wake up, and I’ll do it plenty over my summer vacation. The boost in happiness I get on Mondays though, after a weekend of being disciplined enough to schedule that 7:00 wake-up call is practically immeasurable. So, it just goes to show, that discipline does offer a happiness boost, much as I find myself chagrined to admit it!

Bolstered by this realization, April’s goal is: get to the gym. I started early, figuring that building a routine while I was on vacation and the gym was right downstairs probably wasn’t such a bad plan! I’m aiming for 5 days a week (M T Th F Sat), and my attitude is that I just need to show up. I showed up Monday to a gym with none of my favorite cardio machines available and only a 30 minute window in which to squeeze in a workout. After some wandering around trying to figure out the bike sign-up, I managed to squeeze in about 20 minutes of biking, and gave myself a pat on the back for showing up. I’m hoping that just by showing up for awhile, I’ll be able to throw some discipline at that area of my life too.

Leave a Reply

