Bumps in the Road

I had already planned to take Friday off from work, head down to Cape Cod, and spend a quiet weekend in semi-solitude. I hadn’t booked my non-refundable hotel room though because the weather wasn’t supposed to be spring-like, and because I hate parting with my hard earned cash. I had resolved to come home and do it during the afternoon until at school I went from looking like this:

To this:

Seriously, I couldn’t make this stuff up if I tried. I was reaching up onto a bookshelf for a box of books when one came shooting of the pile and hit me in my open eye. Under the advice of my mother, I made a doctor’s appointment, found out that I have two corneal abrasions which require a trip to the eye doctor because they were the result of “blunt force trauma.” The moral of this story is that books really can be dangerous.

Leave a Reply

