Routine

I spend so much time trying to figure out better ways to streamline my life. I have time maps and planners and routine cards that I carry with me or post in various places at home or at work all in an effort to be more efficient. Now don’t get me wrong, I love being efficient. I love that for the past week and a half I have made a list of the things I need to get done at work, and I have gotten them done and left work within forty five minutes of when I am supposed to. I am on track to finish my progress report comments and grades on time, and I won’t have spent a single weekend minute working on them and to fully understand how big of an accomplishment this is, you have to realize that this is my 11th set of progress report comments and I have never not spent at least an entire weekend day writing them. Score 1 for efficiency!

However, there are times when I miss out because I am so concerned with being efficient. I know that if I don’t go to sleep by 10:00 p.m. the next day feels torturous and that I struggle to make it through my to-do list. I know that if I want to make it to bed by 10, I have to start winding down by 9, and I like to set out my breakfast, lunch and coffee before I head upstairs for the evening. Suffice it to say, this reliance on routine makes it difficult to jump outside of the box and do anything out of the ordinary on a weekday. It makes me yearn for summer or for vacation when my time is not so structured, and I can make time to do things and be rested.

And yet, I can’t live just waiting for the next vacation. So there has got to be a way to be spontaneous, and still maintain most of the routines that keep my life running smoothly. For the most part, my routines make me happier, but I need not be so wedded to them that I forget to take the time to live.

Leave a Reply

