Sleep

Vacation does not grow old. I have seen a few friends this vacation, but mostly I have just been resting. I have been surprised to see that without an alarm, my body is content to sleep until 10:00 every day. In the past, I would be angry about this, annoyed that I had slept away half of my day, but this time I am content to give myself what my body needs from me right now. It does make me realize though, how sleep-deprived I have become. I know that my body generally needs 8.5 to 9 hours of sleep per night, it has been like that for years. Yet, during the past six weeks, I have only been getting 6.5 to 7. No wonder I’ve been getting 10-12 every night this week.

The benefit of time off is that it distills for me that which I need to change in my life. During Christmas vacation I realized that I needed my time with my cup of coffee and my book before I began the day with the kids. During this vacation, I realize that I need sleep. I still want to wake up at 5:30, and the unfortunate reality is that if I want 8.5 to 9 hours, I need to be asleep by 8:30 or 9… admittedly, this will require discipline, but the payoff should be well worth it.

Leave a Reply

