Happiness Clarified

Vacation has the effect of clarifying what truly makes me happy. A cup of coffee, brewed just right. The mid-morning sun, streaming through the windows. A book to accompany the coffee and the sun. Toast, spread thickly with jam. From this small morning ritual my day might go anywhere- Walden Pond for a walk, Davis Square for my second (or third) cup of coffee, the gym because, you know, I really should.

The other thing that makes me immeasurably happier is a list. I did this last summer, and by the end of the summer I felt not like I had wasted my time, but that I had made the most of every minute. Sure, I spent more time relaxing than doing anything else, but at the beginning of the summer I made a list of all of the summer-type things I could do, and I set out to do every single one of them. Last year, my list was pretty local, and I definitely stuck with things that could mostly be done for free. This year, I’m thinking of branching out a bit, and some of these things could, admittedly be done before summer vacation hits. So, without further ado, here’s the list as it stands now.

Cliff Walk – Newport, RI

First Friday Art Walk, Portland, ME

Eartha – Yarmouth, ME

Irish Heritage Trail, Boston, MA

Arnold Arboretum – Jamaica Plain

Cape Neddick Light – York, ME

MFA

Vermont Historical Society Museum – Montpelier, VT

Leave a Reply

